• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Charity

Charity

Superstar Baby Namer

• Charter Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Interests:More than anything else in the world I love being with my family, which includes my amazing husband and our three gorgeous daughters. We are currently expecting number four, and are so excited! I am of course a mother first, but I am a writer second. I am a nut about names and etymology in general. I love reading; I’m a sucker for both the more modern fantasy books, like Harry Potter, and the also classics, like Shakespeare. Music is another thing that I could’ve live without, and I have to say my tastes definitely lean towards modern rock: Nickelback, Hinder, Papa Roach, and Theory of a Deadman are my very favorites. Not too big on television, but I couldn’t live without Lost. I also love cars (and driving them!), and I am the proud “mommy” of a Ford Mustang. I’m also pretty big on talking and I like to see myself as friendly, so I hope to see you around the boards!

Posted 14 April 2008 - 12:28 PM

So while working on some writing this morning, I had another idea for a thread cross my mind. Are there any names out there that mean something special to you? Not even necessarily names that you love or would use on your child, but names that are just somehow important to you; just names that are from your family, your childhood, your memories… anything at all.

I think as far as personal significance to me, the name Gavin means the absolute most. Before my dad died, he and my mom were really trying for another baby and he’d already picked out that name for a boy; it was his favorite. If Josh and I are ever blessed with a little boy, I think I’m going to have to work it in somehow. My mom’s still pretty touchy about it, but I think she’d approve… I just have to think of how to work Jake, Austin and Gavin all into one name.